Longies in the round

I love making longies on circular needles, they are easy & relatively quick, have no seams (yay!), and I find are a great fit with just 3 short rows and a gusset.  I use 40cm and 30cm addi turbo needles, they are soooo nice, just a joy to knit with!

I don’t really follow any one pattern for the longies I make.  I always do an enclosed elastic waistband – mostly because I find ribbing tedious, and making i-cords even more tedious!   It also makes nappy changes quicker and easier when you don’t have to mess about with a drawstring.  For my first pair I was guided by the measurements in the doodlepants pattern but now I just sort of do my own thing.  I add three short rows in the back at 1 inch intervals, pretty much like doodlepants.  But unlike the doodlepants pattern I always put in a gusset – I think a gusset is essential for longies to be worn over cloth nappies.  I always sew up the gusset with kitchener stitch before doing the legs, this means that I can pick up 4 or 5 stitches along the edge of the gusset for the first round of each leg – this eliminates having to sew up any holes later!

 Here’s my first longies-in-the-round effort – E has been wearing them all winter as pajama pants, they are just the best thing for nights!  They are in utiku watermelon have moss stitch cuffs.

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket 

And here are a pair I made for the TNN mid-winter secret santa.  They are in utiku amber and I pimped them a bit with purl stitch cuffs which have a row of faggoting, and adding a few embroidered bats (the one on the front is supposed to be smiling, really!)

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

I made a wee beanie to go with it too, I love knitting hats cos they are so quick!  I start off using my 40cm addis and finish up on dpns. 

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Leave a Reply

