Shirred dress!

I was rummaging through my fabric stash the other day and came across some cotton lawn that I had dyed during a community ed fabric dyeing course earlier in the year at a local high school.  I’d come home with 7m of the stuff, all in different colours and cut in 50cm strips, and had no idea what to do with it apart from make a few hankies.  The fabric was sort of scrunched in a plastic bag when dyed, so it has interesting patterns through it.

 Then I was hit with inspiration from the TNN homemade gallery – it seems that shirred dresses are the big thing at the moment.  So I sweet-talked Mum into whipping one up for E from the dyed lawn.  I asked her to make the straps halterneck style, to tie behind her neck, rather than shoulder straps which I figured might slip off her wee shoulders and get annoying for her:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Leave a Reply

