Finding the knitting mojo

For the last few months my knitting mojo has mostly been away on holiday.  What with the excitement and distraction of getting my mare back from being broken in, being busy at work, packing to move, moving, unpacking, settling in… well there hasn’t been much time for knitting and even less motivation.  I’ve had a pair of longies for E on the needles since March *blush* and I’ve been sporadically snatching a few minutes here and there to work on them but to be honest working stocking stitch on  30cm circs on endless toddler legs is just getting a bit boring.  I’ve done about 3/4 of both legs, but I want to make them extra long with a couple of inches of ribbed cuffs, and I’m starting to look at them with dread!

So I decided that a new, quick project might persuade my mojo to return.  Spotlight had 50% off Cleckheaton Vintage Hues so I picked up a couple of balls in the weekend and scanned Ravelry for ideas.  I love that you can browse Ravelry by yarn!  Calorimetry seemed the perfect choice: something quick, something for me, something I’ve had on my list for a while.  Assisted by Ravelry comments, I decided to use 5.5mm needles and cast on 80 stitches. 

I’ve never knitted with anything bigger than 8ply before, so using 12ply was certainly a novelty – and I loved it!  I knitted my Calorimetry up watching The Scorpion King on Saturday night (not the best movie, but I quite like the odd sword and sorcery flick) plus a little bit of the late movie afterwards.  Yes I’m a slow knitter! And on flats I knit right-handed and I’m very awkward and take my hand off the needle to throw the yarn.  But I did finish it in one sitting, which is a new experience for me – and yes my mojo came back!  So now I want to make some wrist warmers to match :o)

I’ll post a pic soon, I still have to find the computer cable *rolls eyes*

Last night I did another couple of inches on the dreaded longies, and then put them aside and cast on some wee wrist warmers for E.  They are the first thing I have successfully cast on dpns with – I’ve tried before and failed! 

 

Leave a Reply

