Well I couldn’t afford to buy a tropical island

Its beautiful, its for sale, and its slightly out of my price range.  Although escaping to the sun does sound very nice, in the midst of this awful weather we’ve been having.

So instead I listened to the rain pelting and the wind howling outside, hung out in my kitchen and dyed some yarn.  I call it Blue Lagoon. 

I also call it yummy!  I’m so pleased with how this turned out.  Its 200g of white Utiku dyed with Wiltons and Americolor cake gels, and some el cheapo Spotlight food colouring.

8 thoughts on “Well I couldn’t afford to buy a tropical island

  1. OMG that wool looks lovely! I never thought to make my own version of Utiku Ocean, I still can’t help thinking the blue’s is a bit purpley for me 🙂 lol

  2. Thank you for all the nice comments! What will the yarn become? longies of course! LOL. My SIL is due to have a boy in October, and my sister is due in March, so I’ll make some itty bitty soakers and longies 🙂 I may have to embroider sea creatures on them…

Leave a Reply

