Ravelympics

I use Ravelry quite often to browse patterns and look at other people’s mods, so I thought it was about time I started uploading some projects myself. I’ve started with a couple of Ravelympics projects – a couple of items that I’ve been meaning to cast on for a while, and having a time limit will help motivate me to get them finished!
The first is another pair of toddler longies in Utiku gems. I’ve gotten as far as the 2nd short row and then I put them down for a break, and cast on Dashing. My sister and I picked up some Cleckheaton Vintage Hues for $3 a ball a couple of months ago, and she grabbed some orange stuff which to me looked, well, too orange, but she liked it and asked me to make her some long wristwarmers.  I chose Dashing because they are fairly simple, and I saw that someone on Ravelry had made them on 4mm needles, which means I can make them on my 30cm addi turbos rather than have to use dpns which I suck at (I don’t have any circs bigger than 4mm).

Last night, while watching the Evers-Swindell twins and Valerie Vili win gold, I managed to finish the first one.

This morning I discovered that its really hard to photograph your own forearm LOL

 

I hope the thumb doesn’t look too wierd, because it is a lot darker than the yarn where I have picked up the stitches.  Thats just Vintage Hues for you I guess!  I wasn’t about to chop up the rest of the ball just to find the more orangey yarn.

I have to say, that while I didn’t like the colourway at first it has rather grown on me, but the most amazing thing is A said he liked it and it looked like a flame.  He doesn’t normally say much about my knitting other than mumble about me being a nana, so this was high praise!

Before I cast on the next one I have to whip up a couple of newborn hats for pressies – I’d better hurry if I want to get my Ravelympics stuff finished!  It will be interesting to see how the 2nd one knits up, no doubt the colours will be completely different!

5 thoughts on “Ravelympics

  1. I adore that wristwarmer! I’m not really a fan of VH, but ti looks great in those. Cor….you’ve got me all inspired now 😉

Leave a Reply

