Mid Winter Secret Santa

Yep, its that time of the year again!  I received my secret santa gift in the mail yesterday (THANKYOU MEL?), I got this gorgeous hat and scarf set (kindly modelled by E) and some DIVINE home-made rocky road with lots of coconut and pecans in it… mmmmmmmmm.  I would be asking my santa for the recipe only I just started Weight Watchers last week so I probably shouldn’t.  But rocky road is mostly marshmallow right?  And marshmallow isn’t many points, right?

100_2324

Obviously when I wear the hat the ribbed brim isn’t quite so wide!  but its really stretchy and actually fits E nicely as well as me 🙂  I had hinted that I’d love a beanie to wear when feeding out to my horses every night in winter – it gets pretty darn chilly out in the cold winter evenings, and in the rain and wind.  So I’m stoked with this lovely set, its very soft and warm – and of course I never get around to knitting anything  just for me!!!   I don’t know what the yarn is, it definately isn’t pure wool cos its really really soft and not prickly at all and I am really really fussy when it comes to scarf yarn!   So is E, she is a total fussypants when it comes to scratchy yarn, but she wore this set for at least 45mins this morning quite happily and only took it off when she was hot, so it gets her vote of approval too.  I haven’t yet found a 8ply yarn that I like for scarves, so I’m hoping my santa will tell me what this stuff is so that I can get some (I’m thinking it might make a nice Ocean Waves Scarf).

100_2325

I particularly liked this posey pic of E doing her modelling thang:

100_2321

 

Now I haven’t shown what I did for my secret santa gift, because I never got around to photographing it.  I made 3 incredibly ugly but very functional Grandmother’s Favourite dishcloths (the yarn was ugly, not the pattern) and a Vintage Hues Calorimetry, which looked very similar to the one pictured below.  Only wasn’t that one.  But was the same yarn. (ha ha, doesn’t E look so young in that old pic?!)

E

 

Oh and I added some yummy-smelling hand cream and a teacup and coaster set and some herbal tea 🙂

 

Oh, and while I’m here, my online buddy Sheryl is doing a giveaway on her blog, which you  should go and check out here (yes I’m shamelessly mentioning it here so that I can get two entries).

Leave a Reply

