FO: Textured cuff booties

Well knitting for Squiggler this weekend was postponed, because my friend Tammy’s baby surprise arrived on Friday 🙂  I’d held off knitting anything for her until she discovered what colour, because I’m sure she has plenty of yellow and green and cream unisex stuff already.  So on Saturday I whipped up these wee BLUE booties from a ball of Cleckheaton Cotton Soft that I had lurking around.  Its darn hot so I figured only cotton would do – plus its quick to knit in 8ply!

Again, the colour isn’t great because I took the pic in the evening shadow, but you get the idea.  The pattern is from Zoe Mellor’s 50 Baby Bootees to Knit, which I got out of the library.

There are a few cute patterns in this book, but I find it really annoying that most are only given in one or two sizes – eg this pattern was only given in 3-6 month size. You’d thnk that if you are going to the trouble of printing a book you could at least give 3 different sizes for each pattern!

Anyway, the booties were quick to knit, although I made a pig’s ear of picking up stitches along the instep.  I think they are kinda ugly actually, but they are so wee that they look better IRL.  I used smaller needles than recommended because I wanted nb size booties.  I don’t think I’d use this pattern again to be honest, there are cuter bootie patterns out there.

Leave a Reply

